The Virtual Vortex

So, the good news is that we, or I, (perhaps it’s time to pull back from this inappropriate use of the royal we) have been read. I am not entirely alone, after all. In all fairness though, as far as I can see, no-one has actually read my blog who isn’t, in some fashion or another, obliged to do so. Still, it’s nice to be noticed.

From some opening comments to my first blog has arisen the question of whether or not I’m aiming for, or have accidentally fallen into, existentialism in my quest for some truths about blogging. We all have our own take on existential thought, but this is what the Concise Oxford English Dictionary has to say on the matter:

existentialism n. a philosophical theory which emphasizes the existence of the individual person as a free and responsible agent determining their own development through acts of the will

So can this be applied to blogging? Well, yes of course. I blog freely (well, sort of) and responsibly (well, I’ll try) and, if I ever get round to it, I plan to use this space to search for some truths about the human condition emerging from, and within, this form of communication. If I’m really lucky, this search will embody some sort of personal development. The problem is the “emphasizes the existence” bit. In writing for an unknown and, to be honest, unlikely audience, what are the chances of having my existence emphasized? Will I be sucked in to a virtual vortex destined to dismantle my individual self?

Now, that would be something.

 

Leave a Reply

